googleplus linkedin pinterest snapchat vimeo youtube

Student Research Colloquium


Dear TU community,

Our university community should be proud of our students’ performance in the recent joint meeting of the 21st Annual TU Student Research Colloquium and 16th Annual OU-Tulsa Research Forum. This is the sixth time our TU students went to the Schusterman campus to participate in the poster competition. Congratulations to our winners and participants, as well as our session chairs and judges.

There were a total of 178 oral and 20 poster presentations made during the event.

At the Awards Banquet, the winners of the Research Colloquium awards for oral presentations were announced. The competition was keen and all students did a wonderful job; 21 TU students received colloquium awards this year, demonstrating the high participation seen this year in oral and poster presentations. See the full list of this year’s award winners.

Our students are to be commended for more than their personal performance; this is a student-led function with committee members: Ryley Johnson, Soroor Karimi, Alison Kerr, Melissa Miller, Spenser Pulleyking, Leena Subhan Neyaz, and Ebrima Tunkara determining the overall organization of the Colloquium. Additionally, graduate and undergraduate students serve as session chairs and judges. I also greatly appreciate the faculty and staff that judged and therefore helped make this event a success. A total of 78 judges and 25 session chairs covered all the oral presentation sessions.

In addition to the general contributed paper sessions, we also had a number of people step forward to organize special topic symposium. We had 9 special topic symposia included in this year’s event, 4 of which were organized by a TU student and 5 by TU faculty or staff. For a full list of the included presentations and the titles of this year’s special topic symposia, please see the meeting program.

Please congratulate all student participants, judges, session chairs, and co-chairs as well as the faculty and staff judges for a job well done.

Janet A. Haggerty
Vice Provost for Research and Dean of the Graduate School